DramaBeautyPop

3 Passions into 1

Saturday Steam Facial

Hello Saturday everyone! Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend.

I have some not so great news today… I was preparing some new materials to share today when news of both my Grandma and her live-in friend collapsed and taken to the hospital. Today’s post was supposed to be a Pinkie Pie inspired makeup look, but unfortunately, I have not been home all day to prepare anything. I am now home for half an hour to eat and I’ll be back at the hospital. I’ll most likely be there all day and most likely tomorrow as well. As much as I dislike not posting new materials, I also do not want to regret anything if my Grandma passes away. So I’m spending as much time as I can by her side. Which to be completely honest, I don’t think will be much longer. It pains me to see her suffering from living like this… it just breaks my heart.

The family gathering will most likely be moved to tomorrow also, or to next week, depending on when they’ll leave. It’s just been such a long and unlucky week for me and I was hoping for a better weekend, spending it with loved ones. But then something unexpected like this happen which adds to the string of unfortunate. Sometimes it’s just so hard to be happy and optimistic… If it’s not too much to ask, please keep my Grandmother and her friend in your thoughts and prayers. I’d really appreciate it.

So today, I brought back my steam facial recipe. After spending all day in the hospital, I know my skin will act up again. Doing a steam facial will cleanse my pores and rehydrate my skin to its healthy state.

Steam Facial

DIY STEAM FACIAL – ASIAN STYLE (Family Recipe)

What You’ll Need:
– 20 to 30 leaves of lemongrass (tied up into a knot)
– 10 leaves from a grapefruit tree
– 10 leaves from a lemon tree
– 1/2 ginger (smashed)
– water

What To Do:
– In a pot, throw in all of the ingredients at once.
– Fill the pot with water so that all of the ingredients are covered
– Place the lid on and bring to a boil on high
– Do check up on it every now and then because it might cause an overflow if it continues to boil

How To Use It:
Option 1 – Take the pot off of the stove, lid on and set aside. Hunch yourself over the pot, face directly over the pot and drape a large towel over your head to completely cover the pot. Slowly open the lid bit by bit to let the steam out. Be careful to not open the lid too much at a time or you might risk burning yourself. Continue until there are no longer no more steam OR until you feel like you’ve had enough. Pat to dry.
**Please, please, pleeeeease be extremely cautious because this is boiling water and hot steam we’re dealing with. This could cause burns and/or injuries. I do not recommend this option for beginners or people with sensitive skin. I myself use this option because I have been doing this for years so I know the timing and limits.

Option 2 – Do not take the pot off of the stove but instead turn it to medium-low heat. Set it so that the water is continuously heated so there will be steam but not to the point of boiling. Completely remove the lid. Put your face directly over the pot and let the steam work its magic. Do this for 10-15 minutes OR until you feel like you’ve had enough. Pat to dry.
**I do recommend this for beginners but still, please be very careful!

Option 3 – If you’re still uncomfortable with the idea of hunching over the stove, just pick the pot off the stove, take the lid off and put your face over it (without the towel) until there is no longer steam. Pat to dry.

This can actually be used for a few more times, three at least. Just leave it out on the counter and reheat it when you want to use it again. Don’t worry about it going bad, I’ve done it before, maybe five days or so and it did not spoil.

Give this steam facial a try you guys. Your skin will thank you in the long run. My skin has been thanking me by being clear and acne free; it also controls somewhat of the oil excretions too.

Thank you so much for visits and thank you for reading. Please come back soon! 🙂

1 Comment »